Lab Head

Gail Robertson


This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Research Staff

Fang Liu

Fang started her studies in Medicine at China Hebei Medical University. In 2012, she joined Gail Robertson’s lab at the University of Wisconsin-Madison to study co-translational regulation of ion channels involved in the ventricular action potentials.


Postdoctoral Associates

Dr. Catherine Eichel


Dr. Lisandra Flores Aldama

Lisandra received her B.S. in Biochemistry at Havana University, Cuba, where she studied the mechanism of action of an antitumoral peptide by means of proteomic analyses. Later, she received her Ph.D. in Cellular and Molecular Biology atUniversidad Austral de Chile, in the lab of Dr. Sebastian Brauchi. During her Ph.D. project, she studied the underlying mechanism of Calcium-dependent inactivation of TRPV5 and TRPV6 channels, establishing an evolutionary-structural-functional correlate of this phenotype in representative species of vertebrates.

Dr. Taylor Voelker

Taylor received a B.S. in Biology from Truman State University in 2016, and her Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology from the University of California, Davis in 2023 in the lab of Dr. Rose Dixon. Her PhD work focused on the role of the membrane lipid PIP2 in the regulation of cardiac CaV1.2 channel expression, trafficking, and function in health and disease. She joined the Robertson lab as a postdoctoral trainee in 2023.

Graduate Students

Sudharsan Kannan

Sudharsan pursued his undergraduate degree in Biotechnology at the Periyar Maniammai University in India. In his junior year, the Khorana Program for Scholars paved the way to the US, and he got an opportunity to do a summer internship at UW-Madison. Now, he is a graduate student in the Neuroscience Training Program (NTP). He is currently studying hERG channel biogenesis using live cell imaging and super-resolution microscopy.


Annabelle Hoth

Annabelle is an undergraduate research assistant and joined the Roberston lab in 2021 as a laboratory assistant. She is a junior at the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in Biology & Spanish, with certificates in Leadership and Social Justice & Education. Her work in the lab mainly focuses on studying the biogenesis of the hERG ion channel at the mRNA level.



Leslie Mendoza-Villanueva

Leslie is a junior at the University of Wisconsin–Madison majoring in Neurobiology with certificates in Health and the Humanities and Chican@ and Latin@ Studies. She is currently working with Sudharsan Kannan on studying the heteromeric biogenesis of hERG channel subunits.


Saketh Peddireddy



Liliana Ernandez

Liliana is a sophomore Neurobiology major and Data Science minor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  She is currently working on a project studying the heteromeric biogenesis of hERG channel subunits with Sudharsan Kannan.

Past Members

Research Staff

Jin Li, 2018-2023
Daniela Beltran-Hernandez

Postdoctoral Trainees

Erick Rios Perez, Ph.D., 2015-2023
Jennifer Knickelbine, Ph.D., 2017-2022
Greg Starek, Ph.D., 2014-2016
David Jones, Ph.D., 2012 – 2018: Dr. Jones is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Internal Medicine at University of Michigan.
Phu Tran, Ph.D., 2011-2013
Harinath Sale, Ph.D., 2006-2007
Eugenia Jones, Ph.D., 2002-2007
Jinling Wang, Ph.D., 2002-2004
Anne Lynn Gillian, Ph.D., 1999-2000
Janet Branchaw, Ph.D., 1997-1998
Ebru Ayudar, Ph.D., 1996-1998
Ian Herzberg, Ph.D., 1995-1997

Predoctoral Trainees

Margaret Jameson
Whitney Stevens-Sostre, 2016-2023
Kelli Pointer, 2013-2015
Yaxian Zhao, 2011-2018
Sunita Joshi, 2007-2014
Rebecca Uelman, 2006-2012
Sarah Wynia, 2004-2009
Elon Roti Roti, 2003-2009
Pallavi Phartiyal,2003-2007
Adam Rucker, 2003-2005
Alexander Welge (nee Jamal Tayyib), 1999-2001
Matthew Trudeau, 1993-1998


Breanna Raab
Winnie Moy
Rikin Soni, 2018-2020
Aliyah Keval, 2017-2019
Jonathan Silignavong, 2015-2018
Jamie Klett, 2012-2015

The lab competing in a kickball tournament during the summer of 2018.